Edward Liebow, COSSA Board Chair, Named 2020 AAAS Fellow

On November 24, the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) released its list of newly elected AAAS Fellows, a lifetime honor given to select AAAS members who have made significant contributions to the U.S. science and technology enterprise. Among the awardees chosen for 2020 is Dr. Edward Liebow, Executive Director of the American Anthropological Association (AAA) and Chair of COSSA’s Board of Directors. Liebow is recognized for his “distinguished contributions to the field of applied anthropology, and particularly for exemplary administration of professional societies and non-profit research and policy institutions.” Liebow became AAA Executive Director in 2013 after an accomplished career with the Battelle Seattle Research Center conducting research and policy analysis on a variety of policy issues affecting disadvantaged communities. He was elected as Chair of COSSA’s Board of Directors in 2019. COSSA Executive Director Wendy Naus stated, “I cannot think of a social scientist more deserving of this honor. Ed Liebow is an accomplished researcher, thoughtful leader, and steadfast advocate for the social and behavioral sciences. The COSSA community congratulates you, Ed!”

More information about AAAS Fellows is available on the AAAS website.



Past Newsletters



Browse 40 years of the COSSA Washington Update.