The Biden Administration has announced the appointment of the new class of members to the National Science Board (NSB). NSB is the policy-making body of the National Science Foundation (NSF) that also advises the President and Congress on federal science policy. The new members will each serve a six-year term.

The new members include:

  • Deborah Loewenberg Ball, education researcher from the University of Michigan
  • Vicki L. Chandler, Provost at Minerva University and a biological researcher
  • Dorota A. Grejner-Brzezinska, professor and artificial intelligence researcher from Ohio State University
  • Marvi Ann Matos Rodriguez, Director of Engineering at Boeing Company
  • Keivan G. Stassun, chair in Physics and Astronomy from Vanderbilt University
  • Merlin Theodore, a researcher from the Manufacturing Science Division at Oak Ridge National Laboratory
  • Wanda Elaine Ward, Executive Associate Chancellor for Administration and University Relations at the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
  • Bevlee A. Watford, Associate Dean for Equity and Engagement and Professor of Engineering Education in the College of Engineering at Virginia Tech

With terms ending for departed NSB members Emilio Moran and Bob Groves, Deborah Ball and Wanda Ward will be the only two social and behavioral scientists serving on the 30-person Board. Ball previously served on the NSB during the Obama Administration and Ward was previously a staff member at NSF.


Past Newsletters



Browse 40 years of the COSSA Washington Update.