118th Congress: Profile of the House Commerce, Justice, Science Appropriations Subcommittee

House Appropriations Subcommittee on Commerce, Justice, Science, and Related Agencies (CJS) is among the most important committees to the scientific community. The CJS subcommittee is responsible for crafting annual funding legislation for the National Science Foundation (NSF), Department of Justice (DOJ), Census Bureau, and several other science and statical agencies.  

As previously reported, full Appropriations Committee Chairwoman Kay Granger (R-TX) announced Republican subcommittee appointments last month. Rep. Harold “Hal” Rogers (R-KY) has taken over as CJS Subcommittee Chair; Rogers formerly served as chairman of the full Appropriations Committee from 2011-2016. The Republican subcommittee roster includes two freshman members, Reps. Andrew Clyde (R-GA) and Jake Ellzey (R-TX).

For the minority, Rep. Matt Cartwright (D-PA) will remain the top Democrat on the CJS Subcommittee, having served as chair in the last Congress. No freshman Democrats were assigned to the CJS Subcommittee.

The Subcommittee is expected to begin holding hearings shortly featuring federal agency heads and discussing their funding priorities for fiscal year (FY) 2024. Follow COSSA’s coverage for all the latest developments. 


Past Newsletters



Browse 40 years of the COSSA Washington Update.