AAAS Accepting Nominations for Awards and Prizes

The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) has opened the nominations process for several of its annual awards and prizes that recognize significant contributions to science and the public’s understanding of science. The awards and prizes currently accepting nominations include:

  • AAAS Award for Public Engagement with Science – Recognizes scientists and engineers who have made outstanding contributions to the popularization of science (Nominations accepted through August 1, 2018)
  • AAAS Early Career Award for Public Engagement with Science – Recognizes early-career scientists and engineers who have demonstrated excellence in their contributions to public engagement with science activities (Nominations accepted through August 1, 2018)
  • AAAS Award for Science Diplomacy – Recognizes an individual, or team of individuals, in the scientific and engineering or foreign affairs communities making an outstanding contribution to furthering science diplomacy (Nominations accepted through August 1, 2018)
  • AAAS Award for Scientific Freedom and Responsibility – Honors scientists, engineers, and their organizations whose exemplary actions have served to foster scientific freedom and responsibility (Nominations accepted through August 31, 2018)
  • AAAS Mentor Award & Mentor Award for Lifetime Achievement – Honors individuals who during their careers demonstrate extraordinary leadership to increase the participation of underrepresented groups in science and engineering fields and careers (Nominations accepted through August 15, 2018)
  • AAAS Newcomb Cleveland Prize – Awarded to the author or authors of an outstanding paper published in the Research Articles or Reports sections of Science that includes original research data, theory, or synthesis; is a fundamental contribution to basic knowledge or is a technical achievement of far-reaching consequence; and is a first-time publication of the author’s own work (Nominations accepted through June 30, 2018)
  • AAAS Philip Hauge Abelson Prize – Recognizes an individual who has made exceptional contributions to the advancement of science as a public servant, or a scientist who has been distinguished for both scientific achievement and other notable services to the scientific community (Nominations accepted through August 1, 2018)

Back to this issue’s table of contents.

Tags: ,


Past Newsletters



Browse 40 years of the COSSA Washington Update.