House and Senate Committees Take Shape

Several committee chairs and ranking members have been announced in recent weeks, including for committees and subcommittees overseeing funding and policy issues important to social and behavioral science research. These appointments will have important impacts on the priorities and activities of the committees over the next year. A few notable appointments known so far:

House Appropriations Committee
Chairman: Rodney Frelinghuysen (R-NJ) (press release)
Ranking Member: Nita Lowey (D-NY), reappointed

Subcommittee on Commerce, Justice, Science
Chairman: John Culberson (R-TX), reappointed
Ranking Member: TBD

Subcommittee on Labor, Health and Human Services, Education
Chairman: Tom Cole (R-OK), reappointed
Ranking Member: Rosa DeLauro (D-CT), reappointed

Senate Appropriations Committee
Chairman: Thad Cochran (R-MS), reappointed
Ranking Member: Pat Leahy (D-VT) (minority press release)

Subcommittee on Commerce, Justice, Science
Chairman: Richard Shelby (R-AL)
Ranking Member: TBD

Subcommittee on Commerce, Justice, Science
Chairman: Roy Blunt (R-MO)
Ranking Member: Patty Murray (D-WA)

House Science, Space and Technology Committee
Chairman: Lamar Smith (R-TX), reappointed
Ranking Member: Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-TX), reappointed

Senate Commerce, Science and Transportation Committee
Chairman: John Thune (R-SD), reappointed
Ranking Member: Bill Nelson (D-FL), reappointed

Subcommittee on Space, Science, and Competitiveness
Chairman: Ted Cruz (R-TX)
Ranking Member: Gary Peters (D-MI)

House Energy and Commerce Committee
Chairman: Greg Walden (R-OR), (press release)
Ranking Member: Frank Pallone (D-NJ), reappointed

Subcommittee on Health
Chairman: TBD
Ranking Member: Gene Green (D-TX)

Back to this issue’s table of contents.


Past Newsletters



Browse 40 years of the COSSA Washington Update.