America COMPETES Reauthorization Bill Introduced in Senate

On July 31, Senator John D. Rockefeller IV (D-WV), chairman of the Senate Commerce, Science and Transportation Committee, introduced the America COMPETES Reauthorization Act of 2014 (S. 2757). Original co-sponsors include Senators Dick Durbin (D-IL), Bill Nelson (D-FL), Mark Pryor (D-AR), Chris Coons (D-DE), and Edward Markey (D-MA).

As previously reported, a discussion draft of the bill was released for public input last month. The bill as introduced does not differ significantly from the earlier draft. Read COSSA’s earlier analysis for more details.

COSSA issued a statement in support of the legislation on August 8, urging its immediate consideration in the Senate. With Congress now on a five-week summer recess and the limited number of legislative days left this year, it is becoming increasingly unlikely that the House and Senate will come together on compromise COMPETES/NSF reauthorization legislation before the 113th Congress adjourns.

Back to this issue’s table of contents.



Past Newsletters



Browse 40 years of the COSSA Washington Update.